Standing Committee on General Education

The Standing Committee on General Education is responsible for the intellectual and pedagogical oversight of the Program in General Education. The Committee reviews proposals for General Education courses and provides constructive feedback to the faculty submitting these proposals, and also advises the Program regarding pedagogical initiatives. Dean of Undergraduate Education Amanda Claybaugh is the Faculty Director and Chair of the Standing Committee on General Education.

  • Amanda Claybaugh, Dean of Undergraduate Education (Chair)
  • Suzannah Clark, Professor of Music
  • David Cutler, Otto Eckstein Professor of Applied Economics
  • Peter Girguis, Professor of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology
  • Stephanie Kenen, Administrative Director of the Program in General Education (Ex Officio)
  • Rakesh Khurana, Dean of Harvard College (Ex Officio)
  • Alexandra Killewald, Professor of Sociology
  • Rob Lue, Professor of the Practice of Molecular and Cellular Biology
  • Bernhard Nickel, Professor of Philosophy
  • Andrew Perez ‘20
  • Priten Shah ’19
  • Amy Wagers, Forst Family Professor of Stem Cell and Regenerative Biology
  • Jonathan Walton, Professor of Religion and Society at Harvard Divinity School